Cambridge IGCSE

Cambridge IGCSE is the world’s most popular international qualification for 14 to 16 year olds. It is recognised by leading universities and employers worldwide, and is an international passport to progression and success. Developed over 30 years ago, it is tried, tested and trusted by schools worldwide. We align the standards of Cambridge IGCSE with the GCSE qualification taken in England .

Cambridge IGCSE is a standard international qualification which helps learners to improve performance by developing skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving . It prepares learners for the advanced study.

Cambridge IGCSE develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in:

  • Subject content

  • Applying knowledge and understanding to new as well as unfamiliar situations

  • Intellectual enquiry

  • Flexibility and responsiveness to change

  • Working and communicating in English

  • Influencing outcomes

  • Cultural awareness.

What is the difference between IGCSE Core and IGCSE Extended?

To take into account differing abilities, there is a choice between Core and Extended curriculum papers in some subjects.

The Core curriculum is within the ability range of a large majority of students. It provides a full overview of the subject and is targeted at students expected to achieve grades C to G.

The Extended curriculum has been designed for the more academically able. It is targeted at those expected to achieve grades A* to E

The Schram Academy Ayanambakkam offers following subjects in IGCSE

1. English

2. Maths

3. Physics

4. Chemistry

5. Biology

6. Information and Communication Technology

7. Business

8. Economics

9. Accounting.

10. Enterprise

11. Hindi

12. French

13. Art and Design

14. Physical Education (from 2020)

15. Travel and Tourism (from 2020)

16. Global Perspective (from 2020)

Cambridge ICE

Cambridge ICE is a group award for Cambridge IGCSE, and is very popular in the USA and South America.

It allows schools to offer a broad and balanced curriculum by recognising the achievements of learners who pass examinations in at least seven Cambridge IGCSE subjects from five different subject groups, including two different languages.

The Cambridge IGCSE subjects are grouped into five curriculum areas:

  • Group I: Languages

  • Group II: Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Group III: Sciences

  • Group IV: Mathematics

  • Group V: Creative and Professional 

Learners must take two different languages from Group I, and one subject from each of Groups II, III, IV and V. The seventh subject can be taken from any of the five subject groups.

The subjects available are listed below. Please note that not all subjects are available in both the June and November series.

Group I: Language

               English, French, Hindi

Group II: Humanities and Social Science

               Economics, Global Perspective, Environmental Management

Group III: Science

               Biology, Chemistry, Physics

Group IV: Mathematics


Group V: Creative and Professional

              Accounting, Art and Design, Business Studies, Enterprise, Information and Communication Technology, Travel and Tourism

Note: Please note that Cambridge is flexible for the subject choice, but it depends on the school, according to the resources available with school, to offer subject combination. School tries best to accommodate with the subject choice of the student, however, above mentioned subjects are available according to the groups/combination which will be informed before academic session commences. 

English (0500)

English (0510)







Business Studies

Art and Design

Information and Communication Technology




Global Perspective